Tuesday, April 13, 2010

Outstanding Alumni Awards & Alumni Recognition Evening & "Future Alumnus" Award winner: Andrew Bateman

Each year, Metro State College of Denver’s Office of Alumni Relations celebrates the successes of some of its outstanding graduates by presenting awards at its semi-annual Alumni Recognition Evening. These awards are meant reflect the guiding principles and core values of the Metro State Alumni Association, which include: giving back, making a difference, Metro State pride and work ethic.

According to Assistant Director of Alumni Programs and Communication, Stefanie Carroll, “We hear every year from alums that they want to know what their fellow alumni have been doing since graduation. This special evening gives us the chance to highlight the accomplishments of some of our alumni.”

This year’s Outstanding Alumni Awards recipients will be celebrated at the Blueprint for Success: 2010 Alumni Recognition Evening, Wednesday, April 21, from 5:30-7 p.m. at St. Cajetan’s on the Auraria Campus. The cost is $10 per person and includes dinner. Tickets must be purchased by Monday, April 19. Click here for more information.

We will highlight one to two of these alumni each day until the April 21st event. Andrew Bateman ('10, theatre/psychology) is today’s highlighted alum. Andrew won the "Future Alumnus" award.

Andrew Bateman ('10, theatre/psychology) perfectly embodies the newest of Office of Alumni Relations’ awards—“Future Alumnus”. A tireless proponent of student’s rights, Bateman has actively and aggressively utilized his Student Government Assembly positions as a senator (’06-’07), vice president (’07-’08) and president (’08-’09) to influence change throughout the College and State. He has mastered the art of politics, from arguing for cheaper textbooks on Colorado Public Radio and discussing the advantages of “Going Green” on 9News to coordinating massive protests and marches on the Capitol to get his messages across. According to Stefanie Carroll, the Asst. Director of Alumni Programs and Communications, “Andrew is a stellar example of a dedicated and motivated student, who is making a difference not only for the current students he represents, but also for future Metro State students. I have no doubt he will make far-reaching contributions to the Metro community long after he graduates.”

The other 2010 honorees are:

"Distinguished Alumnus" award: Edward Jacobs, Jr. ('96, computer information systems) and Shannon Webber ('04, political science)

"Giving Back" award: Meghan Stinton ('07, journalism)

"Making a Difference" award: Piper Billups ('99, marketing) and Lorne Donaldson ('86, physical education)

"Work Ethic" award: Gregory Aarons ('90, psychology)

"Metro State Pride" award: Danyette Hardin ('07, management)
Special recognition for the Auraria Health Center alumni staff. They are: Bill Mavromatis ('79, history), Debbie Shuman ('05, human performance and sport), Garr Rice ('09, nursing), Steffana Nohavickova ('06, IDP), Gia Valente ('08, history), Linda Wilkens-Pierce ('91, human services), Nathan Neilson ('07, accounting) and Martha Eaton ('94, psychology)

Bookmark and Share

No comments:

Post a Comment