Friday, February 4, 2011

A Morning, With Memories

Kick off Homecoming Week’s Carnivale with a morning devoted to 45 years of Metro State memories and history shared by those who’ve lived it, featuring over 30 panelists, including the first graduates, former campus leaders and military veterans, historians, current faculty and staff, as well as former staff and faculty, plus one Dean, three Board of Trustee members, and one Interim President.

The History Subcommittee invites current and former students, faculty, and staff to an unforgettable Morning, with Memories, Monday, February 14, at the Tivoli.

See old friends, hear tales you never knew, and share stories of your own as we commemorate 45 years as Roadrunners.

This FREE Homecoming event begins with “Our First Decade” keynote panel and light breakfast from 7:30-9:15 AM, followed by three breakout panel sessions: “Our Veterans,” The Leadership,” and “Our Alumni Employed at Metro State,” from 9:30-10:45 AM.
All sessions will be videotaped for the Metro State history archives.
Reservations are highly recommended.
RSVP by clicking here.

A Morning, with Memories

7:30-9:15 AM Tivoli 320 A, B, C
7:30 AM Registration and Light Breakfast
7:55 AM Welcome, Dr. Vicki Golich, Provost, introduced by Charlie Branch, Special Assistant to the Provost and Co-Chair, History Subcommittee
Breakfast Keynote Panel “Our First Decade”
Mark Boyko ’71, former student government chief justice; Dr. Sandra Doe, Professor, English; King Harris ’97, former student government member; Doug Holcombe ’69, former student government president; Suzanne Holcombe ’69, first baccalaureate degree; Sandi Jones, former administrative assistant to Keats McKinney; former Human Resources director; Ed Low, former faculty; Sheldon Steinhauser, Associate Professor, Sociology; Dr. Tony Ledesma ‘72, Moderator, Associate Professor, Human Services

9:30-10:45 AM Breakout Session Panels
Tivoli 320 B “The Leadership”

Dr. Frieda Holley, Emeritus Faculty; Dr. Antonio Esquibel, Emeritus Faculty, former Trustee; Margaret Rivera ’80, retired Foundation and Alumni Association Boards member; former assistant to President, Consortium of State Colleges; Dr. Eugene Saxe, Professor, English, former TrusteeDr. Stephen Leonard, Co-Moderator, History Department Chair and Metro State archivist; Dr. Richard Netzel, Co-Moderator, Emeritus Faculty; former Metro State Interim President

Tivoli 320 C “Our Veterans”

Howard Flomberg ’74, retired Affiliate Faculty (Air Force, Viet Nam); Leroy Chavez ’96, Director, Veterans Upward Bound (Army, Operation Desert Storm; Operation Desert Shield); Tesa Johnson Ferrell Jones, Student (Army, Bosnia Brigade); Martha Eaton ’94, Assistant Director, Health Center; Command Master Chief for Operational Health Support Unit San Diego (OHSU SD), Headquarters (Navy, Operation Iraqi Freedom; Operation Enduring Freedom); Alton Clark ’96, Associative Director, Veterans Upward Bound (Army, Berlin Brigade); David Perez '08, Firefighter (Marines, Operation Iraqi Freedom); Dr. Joe Megeath, Moderator, Emeritus Faculty

Tivoli 440 “Our Alumni Employed at Metro State”
Cindy Busch ’07, Manager, Center for Innovation; Dr. Joan Foster ’78, Dean, School of Letters, Arts and Sciences; Meghan Hartvigson ’10, Alumni Engagement Coordinator; Richard Jividen ’00, Director, Creative Services; Michelle Leboo ’95, Associate Director, Scholarship Center; Kate Lutrey ’88, Interim Director, Student Media; Paulette McIntosh ’80, Director, High School Upward Bound; Dr. Hal Nees ’76, Associate Professor, Criminal Justice; Member, Board of Trustees; Kenneth Phillips ‘83, Chair, Industrial Design; Cherrelyn Napue ‘99, Moderator, Associate Vice President, Alumni Relations-Development
Make your reservations by clicking here.

Please support the Anniversary Scholarship Award Fund. For more information, call 303-556-2242

No comments:

Post a Comment